Manage Conflicting Processes when Updating Third-Party Applications

When updating third-party applications, there may be cases where you need to close an application that is currently open by an end-user. This guide will explain the option “Notify the user to close the application” within the custom right-click option Manage conflicting processes.

Manage conflicting processes

Topics covered in this article:

Video Walkthrough of Notify the user to close the application feature

If you prefer to watch a video guide of how this feature works, please check out the video below.

Configuration Options for Notify the user to close the application

There are a variety of options available for this feature. Below you can find detailed explanations of each option.

  • Timeout after 300 Seconds
    • This option controls how long the user notification will remain open on the screen.
    • Limited to 300 seconds
      • While the user notification is displayed the update is considered to be running. The run time here would contribute to the max run time of your applications and updates, and consume time during a maintenance window for example.
    • Once the timeout is reached the options defined in the ‘Defer Policy’ section described below will either increment or start the day deferral count depending on your settings.
  • Notification behavior if the application is running and focus assist is enabled
    • This option will configure whether the notification should appear when focus assist is enabled on the machine and whether it should impact deferral counts.
      • Discard the notification
      • Always show the notification
      • Show the notification if the deferral policy is reached
  • Allow the user to defer the installation
    • Note that when a user selects to defer the application will ‘fail’ to install.
    • This option will control whether the user can defer the installation to a later time. The following options are available when this setting is enabled:
      • Indefinitely: The user can defer the update indefinitely.
        • Keep in mind this may result in updates never being installed.
      • Up to 5 Times: The user can defer up to the specified number of times.
        • The installation will try again during the next application or update evaluation cycle which will depend on the platform that is being used, ConfigMgr Software Updates, ConfigMgr Apps, or Intune Win32 applications.
        • This has a minimum value of 1 and a maximum value of 100.
      • First notification displayed + 5 days: The user can delay the software installation up to the specified number of days after the first notification was displayed, or the first notification would have been display based on focus assist settings described above.
        • The installation will try again during the next application or update evaluation cycle which will depend on the platform that is being used, ConfigMgr Software Updates, ConfigMgr Apps, or Intune Win32 applications.
        • This has a minimum value of 1 and a maxmimum value of 15.
  • If the timeout expired and no action is taken…
    • There are two options for when the user does not provide any response to a conflicting process notification within the timeout period. The below event will happen if the notification is left to expire without any user interaction.
      • Defer the installation on behalf of the user (Default):
        • The notification will timeout and be closed and count towards deferral, whether that is a count-based deferral or a time-based deferral.
      • Close the application and perform the update:
        • The notification will timeout, the application will be force-closed, and the update for the application will begin to install.
        • Note: With this option enabled the software will force close if someone is not present to dismiss the notification, such as being at the lock screen or otherwise not present.
  • Proceed with the installation even if the application is still running after the countdown (Auto close application):
    • This option will show a countdown matching your selected timeout setting and force close the application if the user does not choose to close and update before the timer is completed.
  • Prevent the end-user from opening an application while the application is updating
    • If the installation is running and a user attempts to start a known conflicting process then they will receive a message box letting them know the startup of the application is blocked.
    • Refer to the ‘Update in progress…‘ section for more detailed information.

Update in progress user notification

 

More InformationNote: If an update is snoozed, or if the notification times out the software will return a 1618 (fast retry) exit code.

Add Custom Branding for Notifications

In the Global Settings options, you can configure a customer banner image and company name.

Custom Branding Manage conflicting processes

You can also preview how it will appear for an end-user by clicking Preview how it will appear.

Preview how it will appear

You can also download our default banner image below. This may be helpful if you want to use the default banner but add a custom logo.

Default Notification Banner

When to enable: Notify the user to close the application

This option can help third-party products whose installers will fail if the application is currently running in the background by an end-user. The option to notify the user to close the application can be less impactful than the option to auto close application process before installation.

This option is only needed for products that have issues updating while in use. The majority of products can update while in use, but may just require a reboot to fully apply.

Below is a list of products we are aware of that will generally fail to update while in use.

Product NameError Code or Behavior
Dell Display Manager0x87D00705
FileZilla0x87D00705, or the binaries are not updated, but the Add Remove Programs entry is.
Greenshot0x87D00705
Notepad++0x87D00705

Notepad++ needs to be closed before an update is installed. If Notepad++ is open, the version in the registry may update, but the actual files in program files do not update. If the version in the registry is updated, it will cause the detection to show installed.

To resolve this, ensure to use the manage conflicting processes feature for Notepad++.
PythonInstallation will complete, but executable versions may not update.
Splunk Universal Forwarder0x80070643
Visual Studio Code5 or 0x80070005

Update in progress…

When the option is set to ‘Prevent the end-user from opening an application while the application is updating‘ we use the Image File Execution Options feature to stop the application from opening. Example usage of this can be seen below. 

Image File Execution Options debugger

The user would expect to see a message box that says ‘An update is currently being installed on your computer. Please, do not try to start <Application Name>‘ or in some cases ‘The requested operation requires elevation’ depending on the version of PatchMyPC-Scriptrunner.exe. 

This message box would appear if the user attempts to launch the software while it is being updated. In some cases, these registry entries may be left behind if the Scriptrunner process is forcefully closed or otherwise closes unexpectedly. If this happens you may see the above messages even though no application installation or update is occurring. If this happens you can delete the registry key named after the process, such as the highlighted notepad++.exe registry key in the above image.

More InformationNote: You will want to check both registry hives below depending on the architecture of the Operating System and the process which started ScriptRunner.

    • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Image File Execution Options
    • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Image File Execution Options
Published On February 23, 2021