Author Topic: Can I use Patch My PC to "copy" programs to new computer?  (Read 31 times)

efixLew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Can I use Patch My PC to "copy" programs to new computer?
« on: March 13, 2019, 10:37:01 AM »
I love Patch My PC for updating existing software, and I know it will also install new software if you select it.

Is there a way I can run it on an existing computer to "gather" a list of installed software, then run it again on a new computer to have it fresh install the supported software that was on the old computer?

Thank you!

Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1487
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Can I use Patch My PC to "copy" programs to new computer?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2019, 11:20:36 AM »
Please check out the second video https://patchmypc.com/home-updater-documentation

efixLew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use Patch My PC to "copy" programs to new computer?
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2019, 12:28:55 PM »
I learned a lot from watching that video, thank you.

It seems the closest I can come to what I'm trying to do is on PC1 scroll down the list, right click on each piece of currently installed software, and choose "Add as auto-install in PatchMyPC.ini" for each one (while mentally counting until I match the number at the top to make sure I don't miss any).

There is no "add all currently installed software inventory to PatchMyPC.ini" (or something similar), correct? I don't want to manually choose or dictate what gets installed on PC2 as much as I want to tell PC2 to mirror whatever was on PC1.