Author Topic: Deployment via RMM  (Read 15440 times)

Offline datarunner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Deployment via RMM
« on: May 11, 2012, 08:53:29 AM »
Hi Guys

I love the software

Just a couple of quick questions

I want to deploy this software to my Home / SOHO clients via Remote Monitoring & Management (RMM)

At the moment all I want the software to do is run silently and update any outdated apps on the customers computers.

Obviously each client's computer will be different so will PatchMyPC just update the required software?

I don't want it to install anything that the client DOESN'T have or needs

Info appreciated

Regards

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2061
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 02:55:00 PM »
Yes, it will only install needed updates.

Here's a link containing info about deploying PMPC http://patchmypc.net/forum/index.php?topic=16.0

Offline datarunner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 03:38:36 PM »
Hi There

Thanks for taking the time to reply

OK so I download Patch My PC then check the options I want then:

Upload it to my RMM dashboard and deploy to clients using PatchMyPC.exe /s

Do I need to run any batch commands etc?

Info appreciated


Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2061
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 04:48:39 PM »
No Problem

I'm not sure how RMM works I use SCCM. If you can run the program with a switch in RMM you shouldn't need to use a batch file.

/s should be fine for having PMPC apply updates silently.

Justin

Offline datarunner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2012, 04:55:04 PM »
Hi There

OK it deploys OK with RMM but it will NOT end or quit unless I end it with Task Manager / Right click it in System Tray and select Exit or open it via System Tray then close it.

I need it to run, check for updates then close

Regards

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2061
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2012, 05:12:04 PM »
I will take a look tonight. Do you have the run Windows updates option checked on the machine it's running on? Thanks

Offline datarunner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2012, 05:16:44 PM »
Hi There

No just the common apps only

No others or Windows Updates

Thanks again for your time

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2061
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2012, 06:33:05 PM »
Try re-downloading version 2.1.1.2. I just posted a update that should resolve this issue where Patch My PC doesn't close when using switches.

Thanks

Justin

Offline datarunner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2012, 09:28:27 AM »
OK nearly there

Deleted old versions of PMPC and downloaded new version

Deployed via RMM with GUI Mode auto and all went OK

Only gripe here was that it auto updated programs in the "Other" list whereas I only wanted the Common items updated

No biggie

Then redeployed via RMM this time in Silent Mode but it woudn't exit

Regards

Offline datarunner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2012, 10:04:55 AM »
Just to confirm

Yes I redeployed in GUI Mode with the /auto switch and it exits OK

And shows as Succeeded in my RMM Admin Panel

So that's a workable solution

Regards

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2061
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Deployment via RMM
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2012, 10:42:06 AM »
Awesome thanks for reporting this issue   :)