Author Topic: Skipping thunderbird  (Read 1609 times)

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Skipping thunderbird
« on: December 15, 2019, 09:41:41 AM »
I'm playing around with how to skip certain software to be updated.
Im trying to skip thunderbird as a test but i can't seem to get it right.
from my understanding this needs to be done through the registry in windows:

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Patch My PC

I have added a dword32 with data point 1 with the name of SkipMozillaThunderBird
but this doesn't work.

what am i missing?

Thanks for a awesome product!

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2019, 04:40:42 AM »
Did you right-click the checkbox and choose the skip option?

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2019, 10:33:17 PM »
Hi Justin,
no i didn't. I was hoping the reqhack would do the same thing?
can't it be done through the registry? or ini file instead of clicking the application?

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2019, 07:32:44 AM »
Is the regvalue you added the same added when doing a right-click and skipping?

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2019, 10:26:23 AM »
when i choose to skip no value is added in registry ... should it do that?

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2019, 10:31:18 AM »
It may be a bug. We will need to look into this for a future update.

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2019, 10:46:05 AM »
when should the program write to registry?

just to be clear. im looking here:
https://imgur.com/WVUBAJu

I have tried all these settings and none of them does so it shows in registry
https://imgur.com/czpP3hR

am i doing it right?

Offline hungrysir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • happy wheels
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2020, 08:06:13 PM »
Is the regvalue you added the same added when doing a right-click and skipping?

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2020, 06:12:53 AM »
Hi
I tried that but nothing is written to registry when i skip thunderbird manually in the program.

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2020, 12:11:38 AM »
Any newz on this? cause we are starting to look at Managed Engine since we need a solution

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2020, 04:45:28 AM »
Not yet, we will look at this in the next update to our home updater.

Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2020, 09:55:10 PM »
What is the ETA for the next release?

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2020, 08:48:18 AM »
No eta yet.

What is the ETA for the next release?


Offline offerlam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2020, 08:58:47 AM »
is the feature working on the cost version og patchmypc?

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Skipping thunderbird
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2020, 12:49:41 PM »
This feature isn't applicable to our Enterprise product.

is the feature working on the cost version og patchmypc?