Author Topic: Language Selection not working  (Read 5290 times)

Offline shm0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Language Selection not working
« on: October 18, 2013, 11:30:19 AM »
Hi

i really like patchmypc. it just works. thank you for that :D

but i have one problem. I set my language to german but every program updated through patchmypc is installed in english. (Like Firefox, Thunderbird...)
How to fix that?

Thank you.

shm0

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2109
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Language Selection not working
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2013, 01:59:15 PM »
Hi we will look into this most apps only support english

Offline utilis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Language Selection not working
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 10:53:49 AM »
Any news on this, I see from the latest defs at http://patchmypc.net/documents/definitions.xml that, for example, FF has a listing for multiple languages, French being one of them at http://download.cdn.mozilla.net/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/26.0/win32/fr/Firefox Setup 26.0.exe.

I just tested this with language set to French and it still downloads and installs the en-us version; the same result with Adobe Reader 11.  Both were installed in FR versions prior to update.  The majority of users we support are FR or NL.  I assume if the links are in the xml defs then something is going wrong with the language setting not being detected?

This is on  W7 Pro French install however I see the same behaviour on NL computers.

We want to adopt PMP for use with our RMM solution so would be looking at purchasing a license / donating (200+ computers to be licensed) but this is a bit of a showstopper if we need to exclude common apps like Firefox.

Thanks!

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2109
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Language Selection not working
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2015, 04:28:36 PM »
this should be fixed for the apps that support alternative languages.