Author Topic: Unable to connect to patchmypc  (Read 2541 times)

Offline Phoneios

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Unable to connect to patchmypc
« on: March 02, 2020, 07:45:27 AM »
Not sure if this is a bug at all but since a couple of weeks I canÔÇÖt use Patchmypc anymore.

If patchmypc wants to connect to the server I get this message, in English strangely mixed up with some Dutch:



Unable to connection to patchmypc.com. Please verify you have internet connection And try to browse to https://patchmypc.com.

Error Message: De externe server heeft een fout geretourneerd: (403)
Niet toegestaan.


With the Dutch part translated that would be something like:

Unable to connection to patchmypc.com. Please verify you have internet connection And try to browse to https://patchmypc.com.

Error Message: The external server returned an error: (403)
Not allowed.


About my network and devices, what I have found out so far, other things to consider:

My internetprovider is very fast and reliable, all things online work flawlessly. Patchmypc has been working perfectly for years and this changed suddenly, without any alterations to my setup at all.

╠ÂW╠Âh╠Âe╠Ân╠ ╠Ât╠Âr╠Ây╠Âi╠Ân╠Âg╠ ╠Ât╠Âo╠ ╠Âc╠Âo╠Ân╠Ân╠Âe╠Âc╠Ât╠ ╠Ât╠Âo╠ ╠ ╠Âh╠Ât╠Ât╠Âp╠Âs╠Â:╠Â/╠Â/╠Âp╠Âa╠Ât╠Âc╠Âh╠Âm╠Ây╠Âp╠Âc╠Â.╠Âc╠Âo╠Âm╠ ╠Âv╠Âi╠Âa╠ ╠Âb╠Âr╠Âo╠Âw╠Âs╠Âe╠Âr╠Â,╠ ╠ÂF╠Âi╠Âr╠Âe╠Âf╠Âo╠Âx╠ ╠Âs╠Âa╠Ây╠Âs╠ ╠Âs╠Âo╠Âm╠Âe╠Ât╠Âh╠Âi╠Ân╠Âg╠ ╠Âl╠Âi╠Âk╠Âe╠ ╠ÂÔÇ£╠Âw╠Âe╠ ╠Âc╠Âa╠Ân╠ÂÔÇÖ╠Ât╠ ╠Âf╠Âi╠Ân╠Âd╠ ╠Ât╠Âh╠Âa╠Ât╠ ╠Âw╠Âe╠Âb╠Âs╠Âi╠Ât╠Âe╠ÂÔÇØ╠Â.╠ ╠Â
╠ÂP╠Âi╠Ân╠Âg╠Âs╠ ╠Âa╠Âr╠Âe╠ ╠Ât╠Âi╠Âm╠Âe╠Âd╠ ╠Âo╠Âu╠Ât╠Â.╠ ╠Â
╠ÂI╠ ╠Âc╠Âh╠Âe╠Âc╠Âk╠Âe╠Âd╠ ╠Âu╠Âs╠Âi╠Ân╠Âg╠ ╠Âa╠ ╠Âc╠Âh╠Âr╠Âo╠Âm╠Âe╠ ╠Âb╠Âa╠Âs╠Âe╠Âd╠ ╠Âb╠Âr╠Âo╠Âw╠Âs╠Âe╠Âr╠ ╠Âb╠Âe╠Âs╠Âi╠Âd╠Âe╠Âs╠ ╠ÂF╠Âi╠Âr╠Âe╠Âf╠Âo╠Âx╠Â,╠ ╠ÂÔÇÿ╠Ân╠Âo╠ ╠Âs╠Âu╠Âc╠Âh╠ ╠Âw╠Âe╠Âb╠Âs╠Âi╠Ât╠Âe╠ÂÔÇÖ╠Â.╠ ╠Â
╠ÂI╠ ╠Âc╠Âa╠Ân╠ ╠Âr╠Âe╠Âa╠Âc╠Âh╠ ╠Âa╠Ân╠Ây╠ ╠Âo╠Ât╠Âh╠Âe╠Âr╠ ╠Âw╠Âe╠Âb╠Âs╠Âi╠Ât╠Âe╠ ╠Âw╠Âi╠Ât╠Âh╠ ╠Âa╠Ân╠Ây╠ ╠Âb╠Âr╠Âo╠Âw╠Âs╠Âe╠Âr╠Â.╠ ╠Â
╠ÂI╠ ╠Âl╠Âo╠Âo╠Âk╠Âe╠Âd╠ ╠Âu╠Âp╠ ╠Ât╠Âh╠Âe╠ ╠Âi╠Âp╠ ╠Âa╠Âd╠Âr╠Âe╠Âs╠Âs╠ ╠Âo╠Âf╠ ╠Âp╠Âa╠Ât╠Âc╠Âh╠Âm╠Ây╠Âp╠Âc╠Â,╠ ╠ÂI╠ ╠Âc╠Âa╠Ân╠ ╠Ân╠Âo╠Ât╠ ╠Âc╠Âo╠Ân╠Ân╠Âe╠Âc╠Ât╠ ╠Âu╠Âs╠Âi╠Ân╠Âg╠ ╠Âi╠Âp╠ ╠Âa╠Âd╠Âr╠Âe╠Âs╠Âs╠ ╠Âi╠Ân╠Âs╠Ât╠Âe╠Âa╠Âd╠ ╠Âo╠Âf╠ ╠Âw╠Âe╠Âb╠ ╠Âa╠Âd╠Âr╠Âe╠Âs╠Âs╠Â.╠ ╠Â

 ╠ÂF╠Âr╠Âo╠Âm╠ ╠Ât╠Âh╠Âe╠ ╠Âs╠Âa╠Âm╠Âe╠ ╠Ân╠Âe╠Ât╠Âw╠Âo╠Âr╠Âk╠ ╠Âv╠Âi╠Âa╠ ╠Ât╠Âh╠Âe╠ ╠Âs╠Âa╠Âm╠Âe╠ ╠Âm╠Âo╠Âd╠Âe╠Âm╠Â/╠Âr╠Âo╠Âu╠Ât╠Âe╠Âr╠ ╠ÂI╠ ╠Âc╠Âa╠Ân╠ ╠Âc╠Âo╠Ân╠Ân╠Âe╠Âc╠Ât╠ ╠Ât╠Âo╠ ╠Ât╠Âh╠Âi╠Âs╠ ╠Âw╠Âe╠Âb╠Âs╠Âi╠Ât╠Âe╠ ╠Âv╠Âi╠Âa╠ ╠Âs╠Âm╠Âa╠Âr╠Ât╠Âp╠Âh╠Âo╠Ân╠Âe╠Â.╠ ╠ÂS╠Âo╠ ╠Âi╠Ât╠ ╠Âi╠Âs╠ ╠Ân╠Âo╠Ât╠ ╠Âa╠ ╠Âs╠Âe╠Ât╠Ât╠Âi╠Ân╠Âg╠ ╠Âo╠Ân╠ ╠Âm╠Ây╠ ╠Âm╠Âo╠Âd╠Âe╠Âm╠Â/╠Âr╠Âo╠Âu╠Ât╠Âe╠Âr╠Â.╠ ╠Â
(edit: After some time this issue with the website has been resolved by itself...)

The issue has been mentioned in this extremely short thread:
https://patchmypc.com/forum/index.php?topic=2055.0

So I checked the host file. Patchmypc is not blocked.
I checked the Firewall:
There are no application rules regarding patchmypc
Zero websites are blocked.

There are no other issues with this machine.

Update: Lo and behold, I now can reach the website! That was not possible up to this morning. However, the app still canÔÇÖt connect and this has been the case for at least a week or two. The app however still can't connect.

Now the connection to the website (at least for me) has been intermittendly interupted too while all other websites are without issues (and those were many), IÔÇÖd appreciate if somebody knowledgable could think this over. What could cause my issue? What could be the solution?

In the meantime I tried to run patchmypc with the firewall in 'trainingsmodus' to no avail.

« Last Edit: April 08, 2020, 05:09:15 AM by Phoneios »

Offline Phoneios

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2020, 05:12:15 AM »
Can you summarize in Short Summary.

Thanks for bumping. I'll summarize for you:

Patchmypc can't connect to the server


Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2020, 06:40:54 AM »
This looks like a firewall issue on your end.

Offline paweterings

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2021, 04:17:32 AM »
It can't be an firewallproblem: I added patchmypc.com to programs allowed to communicate (see attachment). Yesterday PMP worked perfectly on this internet connection, nothing has changed (except for the error message obviously).

Offline sync45

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2021, 08:42:49 AM »
Not sure if this is a bug at all but since a couple of weeks I canÔÇÖt use Patchmypc anymore.

I have exactly the same problem, but only with my laptop. It's running Windows 10 with all the latest updates. I've had Patchmypc installed for a couple of years on it and it always worked. But recently I started to get the same error message about not being able to connect. I've excluded/allowed it on my firewall and Bitdefender AV. No change. The weird thing is that Patchmypc works fine with my W10 desktop. Same router/modem. It's something inside my laptop that's the problem, but what and where?

Offline Justin Chalfant

  • Patch My PC Support
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
    • View Profile
    • Patch My PC Support
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2021, 01:29:57 PM »
Does this repro on every load?

Offline Andrew Jimenez

  • Patch My PC - Support Engineer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2021, 02:26:38 PM »
Other users have had success by doing the following:


Offline sync45

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to patchmypc
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2021, 04:07:45 AM »
Thank you, Andrew. It worked!