Support Forum: Get Support for Patch My PC Products and Services

Microsoft Configuration Manager and Intune (Enterprises/Paid) => Support and General Questions (Enterprises Using ConfigMgr and Intune) => Topic started by: nlopezs74 on May 22, 2019, 05:08:04 PM

Title: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 22, 2019, 05:08:04 PM
I am using the trial catalog to deploy Firefox. I was able to successfully installed the update via a schedule deployment. The issue I am having is that Firefox does not report as being upgraded. It is waiting for user to launch the browser. Is this something handled by the paid version?

Thanks for the help
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 22, 2019, 05:09:06 PM
Was Firefox open during the upgrade this could be why the restart of Firefox is being requested
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 23, 2019, 02:42:45 AM
No. The browser was not running. I confirmed that on a lab server. btw, The package was published using the publishing tool.
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 23, 2019, 06:37:11 AM
Let us see if we repro. So the steps are?

Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 23, 2019, 11:26:59 AM
Old version is installed. I then assigned the update group to the collection for deployment. The update completes successfully. I then have to go to the machine, launch Firefox to refresh. The inventory scan still reports the old version before the refresh.
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 23, 2019, 12:39:22 PM
What was the previous version you had installed?
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 24, 2019, 06:49:19 AM
I have different versions.

60.6.3
61.0.1
61.0.2
62.0.2
62.0.3
64.0
65.0
65.0.2
66.0.3
66.0.5
I now have 67 available. I am going to build a new SUG with 67
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 24, 2019, 07:52:04 AM
We are unable to repro this issue in our labs. Did you modify anything in your installation package for Firefox?

Attempted Repro: https://imgur.com/a/hBH8P8m
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 24, 2019, 07:59:02 AM
Nothing. So All the old versions currently installed were initially installed by the end user. I am now trying to update them using the SUG.
Did you tried manually installing an old version then updating it with the published update?

Thanks
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 24, 2019, 08:00:13 AM
Yea, this was the process manually installing v60 and deploying the latest published updates as shown in the video.
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 24, 2019, 08:08:41 AM
At the beginning of the video you have what I am seeing. I am asked to refresh Firefox even after the update completed. Let me deploy Firefox 67. I will capture into a video myself.

Thanks
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 25, 2019, 06:26:21 PM
So, the Firefox 67 update did installed and shows the correct version under "Add and Remove Programs". I am still having to refresh/reset Firefox on launch.

Take a look.

https://imgur.com/a/e3GQMl7

Thanks for looking into this.
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 27, 2019, 05:53:22 AM
It looks like the client ends up with both version of Firefox. This is why I am still seeing the old version.



Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 27, 2019, 07:04:15 AM
Did you use the MSI of EXE of the Firefox Installer?
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 27, 2019, 06:17:01 PM
Not sure what the end user used. I will have to check the clients. The published updates don't show MSI or EXE for some of the software. 7-zip, Adobe Flash, Foxit Reader give me the option. Firefox, Notepad++ or VLC media player do not.
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 31, 2019, 04:35:47 AM
Gave up on me?   :(
How would you check for EXE or MSI at the end-point?
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: Justin Chalfant on May 31, 2019, 05:01:12 AM
Can you send the ccm\logs via our support page email form? I expect you have an older version of Firefox being re-deployed as an application because the detection method is not >= check the appenforce.log.
Title: Re: Firefox doesn't report as being upgraded
Post by: nlopezs74 on May 31, 2019, 01:51:12 PM
I ended up removing all instance of the old Firefox software. Don't worry about it. New deployments are working correctly. I was just trying to figure out if there was an easy way to check on the client the type of installer used by end user. (msi vs exe)

Thanks.