Author Topic: View complete command line for Updated application  (Read 204 times)

Offline Tech710

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
View complete command line for Updated application
« on: November 08, 2021, 11:25:13 AM »
All,
I am new to PatchMyPc. I am trying to update my enterprise with Recast Right Click Tools.
The command line has to include the license server. I edited the command line via the right click menu Modify command line to include this information.
When I go to the Show package info: title, command-line... on the right click menu I do not see the additional information.
How can I get to view the complete command line?

Offline Wes Mitchel

  • Support Engineer
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: View complete command line for Updated application
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2021, 02:20:48 PM »
Hi,  Have you reviewed the following article.  Recast RCT needs to be downloaded into the local repository.  https://patchmypc.com/local-content-repository-for-licensed-applications-that-require-manual-download.  If you have the files download please submit a support case: https://patchmypc.com/technical-support with the following logs included to help us troubleshoot.  %PatchMyPCInstallDirectory%\PatchMyPC.log
%PatchMyPCInstallDirectory%\PatchMyPC*.lo_
%PatchMyPCInstallDirectory%\Settings.xml

Offline Alexander321

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: View complete command line for Updated application
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2021, 06:30:46 AM »
All,
I am new to PatchMyPc. I am trying to update my enterprise with Recast Right Click Tools for infor?
The command line has to include the license server. I edited the command line via the right click menu Modify command line to include this information.
When I go to the Show package info: title, command-line... on the right click menu I do not see the additional information.
How can I get to view the complete command line?
You may have heard of small hacks that work with Chrome; you can append a little ‘switch’ to a Chrome shortcut and change its behavior. We’ve covered one that allows you to launch Chrome in a particular profile and it’s pretty useful. Chrome isn’t the only app that supports these little ‘switches’, lots of apps do and these switches are actually command-line arguments that the apps support. These arguments are a great way to change the behavior of an app. If you have an app running on your desktop, and want to know if it’s running normally or with any of these switches, it’s fairly easy to find out.


Command-line arguments – Task Manager
This is the easiest method for viewing command-line arguments for a running app on Windows 10. Open Task Manager. Right-click the header of any one of the columns and select ‘Command line’ from the menu. This will add a new ‘Command line’ column. Look for your app in the Processes list, and check what the Command Line column displays for it. It will show you all the command-line arguments that were used when the app was launched.



Command-line arguments – Command Prompt
If the above method doesn’t work for a particular app, you can use a simple Command Prompt command to find all the switches that an app is running with but before you can use the command, you need a little https://clicksud.mobi/adela/ about the app.

Open Task Manager. Look for the app on the Processes tab and right-click it. Select ‘Go to details’ from the context menu. This will switch you over to the Details tab in Task Manager with the app highlighted. Note down the value in the PID column.



Open Command Prompt and run the following command. Replace the four zeros with the PID value for the app. The value can be much larger than four digits don’t worry about matching the length. The four zeros are just dummy values here.