• Welcome to Support Forum: Get Support for Patch My PC Products and Services.

SCCM - Software Center / "Available" Deployment and Update Content

Started by Chris, May 09, 2022, 02:08:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris

I'm just getting started with PMPC, and our crew here is pretty much self-taught in SCCM, so if this is a dumb question, please bear with me.

From my understanding, when an app has updates, PMPC will drop the new files in and do the equivalent of an Update Content on the SCCM Application.  My question is what then happens in the following scenarios:

• "Required" Deployment - app is forcefully installed on a collection of devices (we tend NOT to target required deployments to user collections)
  • "Available" Deployment - app is available to a collection(s) of users or devices, and the users can install from Software Center

I'm assuming that for required deployments, SCCM will notice the new version number and automatically redeploy the updated app to the collection?  I'm also further assuming that the PMPC installer will gracefully take care of removing the old version if needed?  Or perhaps SCCM does an uninstall / reinstall cycle?

My main worry is for available deployments where folks already have the app installed from Software Center.  Will SCCM automatically redeploy to those people?

Oh, and I just came up with a third class of installs - what if the application was on the user's device before we made it available?  Is SCCM smart enough to realize this and add that device to the "devices where XX is installed" list?

As you can probably see, I'm just trying to wrap my head around what to expect to happen once I start replacing our current deployments with PMPC deployments.  I'd rather not have any user-facing surprises if I can help it. :)

I appreciate any input anyone might have!

-Chris

Antony (Patch My PC)

Hi Chris,

No silly questions here :)